Tags

, , , , , , ,

Dear Pennies & Pens,

First off, my apologies for my severe negligence it’s just that I’ve been super busy with The Network and finishing up classes at FIT. Now, that school is over I am focusing on my business which includes this blog. Moving right along, today I wanted to talk about an emerging model, Georgie Badiel. Georgie is the first three letters in her last name…BAD…kinda like the Michael Jackson song. When I saw the picture of her from below in the pages of Essence Magazine, I knew she was on her way.

Georgie Badiel for Essence Magazine

On the runway, Georgie is just as fierce. She’s strutted the runways for top houses like Bill Blass, Isaac Mizhai, and Oscar de la Renta. She’s even posed for Halston Heritage. In essence, this girl is building quite the portfolio. She’s signed with Muse in NYC, Elite Milan, and New Madison in Paris. Being signed with multiple agencies is definitely working in this girl’s favor, she’s done New York, London, and Paris fashion week.

Georgie Badiel for Oscar de la Renta

Georgie Badiel for Isaac Miszhai

Georgie Badiel for Bill Blass

Georgie is from Burkina Faso which is a landlocked country in West Africa. And according to the Black Super Model Chronicles, Georgie is very proud of her heritage. Being proud of where you come from is key especially when working in an industry where it’s easy to lose your sense of self. Georgie seems to be well on her way and I wish this fabulous emerging model all the best.

Georgie Badiel for Arise Magazine

And there it is. The Fashion and Style of the Pen…de la Pen.